Thursday, April 26, 2012

Weber a Norris Trophy Finalist

The National Hockey League announced today the three finalists for the Norris Trophy, given to the defensive player "who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all around ability in the position." They are: Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators; Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators; and Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins.

For the second straight season, Weber has been nominated for this award, an acknowledgement of the quality and consistency of his game. Weber finished second in the voting last season to Nicklas Lidstrom of Detroit.

Weber was 6th among defensemen in scoring with 49 points (19G-30A). He tied with fellow nominee Erik Karlsson for most gaols by a defenseman. Weber was a team leading +21 and ranked 5th in average ice time with 26:09 per game.

The strength of Weber's game is that he plays in all situations. His 10 power play goals led all NHL defensemen, and he was third among Predators defensemen in shorthanded time on ice at 2:16 per game (Klein 2:18; Suter 2:20).

Zdeno Chara is a Norris finalist for the fourth time in the past five season. Chara led all NHL defensemen with a +33 rating a nad had 52 points (12G-40A) this season. Chara averaged 25:00 per game in ice time.

Karlsson led all NHL defensemen in scoring with 78 points (19G-59A) and in blocked shots with 261. Karlsson had a +16 rating and averaged 25:19 in ice time.

The award will be presented at the NHL Awards show in Las Vegas on June 20th.

No comments:

Post a Comment